Instant Gratification Meets Knitting

April 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

I needed something instant! I needed a project to magically workup in a matter of hours …

I have been staring at my handspun, and wondering what it wanted to become, I really enjoyed spinning this particular handspun, because I went all freeform on it :) … And so the conception of my Handspun Cowl came into being. So it consists of Merino/Alpaca & Angora scrap roving with a smattering of Angelina, I found a bunch in the fibre stash, so I carded all together and spun single ply DK to Aran Weight, as a thick-thin yarn …

The colours vary from Orange, Teal, Violet, Brown, Pink, Maize, Turquoise Blue, Ecru … Such a joy to spin, the Merino-Alpaca-Angora Blend was just fabulous!

And even better to knit!! :D – The picture doesnt illustrate the Angelina as it should, but I only used a small amount but it’s there. This quick knit was inspired by Parikha Mehta’s Free Pattern, Dolores Park Cowl.

Loved knitting this so much, ok so it’s nothing spectacular … it’s just a knitted tube :) BUT! with Handspun yarn!!! And it took less than 24 hrs whilst watching, the 2 latest episodes of The Good Wife.

It’s all washed and blocked, and is soft, warm and visual feast for the eyes! The Angora gives it a lovely halow and add that little extra softness … So delightful!

Anyway … onwards and upwards … Here’s to the weekend!

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Instant Gratification Meets Knitting

  • Thanks for your comment!
    yes, Madelinetosh is a bit delicious….can’t wait for mine to arrive….
    I just saw your shop on etsy, must have missed it last time I visited. I really like your undyed cashmere…let me get through some of my projects, then I must try dying my own…a project for a quiet afternoon…
    Stay warm and happy knitting.
    Alex

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Instant Gratification Meets Knitting at .

meta

