My Holden

April 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

I just finished knitting my Holden Shawl!! Hazzaahh!

There was something about this pattern that compelled me to knit it … :) I generally stay away from triangle shawls, the increasing of stitches every couple of rounds is something that doesnt particularly excite my special interests. But no matter, I still persisted with the Holden by  Mindy Wilkes.

I been incredibly compelled to knit this shawl that I believe I might have a repetative stress injury!! :)

The pattern is easy to memorise once you get the hang of it ….

The only mods I have made to this pattern were made midway thru the stockinette part of the pattern. On the Right Side rows only:

Beginning of RS row: K3, YO, K2, M1 ….

Ending of RS row: Last 5 sts; M1, K2, YO, K3

I continued knitting the above mods on the RS only, until I reach 193sts … the rest of the lace pattern was knit as originally supplied, I also knit an extra lace pattern repeat. I was worried I wouldnt have enough yarn, but it seems I have 25gm of yarn left.

This is the first time I have bound off using the picot edge bind off, I have to say …. it’s worth the effort!

What a lovely pattern! Now I can rest my fingers and enjoy wearing this pretty shawl, my last 2 pics were taken in 6am light on a cool autumn morning …

The yarn used is my own handdyed yarn … I also have the same blend in the Russet-Red colourway in my etsy shop.

Happy Knitting yall! :)

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to My Holden

  • Just stunning! The blue yarn looks lovely, but I love the Russet coloured one very much too. I love lacy shawls but haven’t got the patience for it..one day, when all is quiet around me I will attempt a pretty shawl like yours…well done!
    Alex

  • […] Shawl Kick … Leave a Comment Posted by spunkyarn on June 1, 2011 Since knitting my Holden Shawlette, I’ve been quite taken with the idea of knitting Shawls and Shawlettes! Even I’m amazed […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Holden at .

meta

