On a Shawl Kick …

June 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

Since knitting my Holden Shawlette, I’ve been quite taken with the idea of knitting Shawls and Shawlettes! Even I’m amazed at this revelation unto self … :| … as I was quite daunted with the fact of knitting increasing exponentially as the rows increased (I’m talking about you classic triangle shaped shawl). And now … I’ve managed to buy several shawl patterns, stick afew on my queue and EVEN caston acouple!! I dont recognise myself anymore!! ;) … but I am brimming with anticipation on the outcome of this “shawl kick(-along)”.

So lets see … here’s what I’ve got in my library, queued … languishing and recent Cast Ons and completed:

FOs

Citron Shawl & Holden Shawlette

Recent WIPs

Andrea’s Shawl by Kirsten Kapur: When I first saw this shawl I was taken with the lace edging detail! The combo with the stripes is truly gorgeous. Going through Ravelry, I was pushed over the edge by a number of awe inspiring versions by ittybitty, picperfic (beautiful handspun yarn), KatyaGuler (lovely in a solid burgundy like colour) and jojilocat.

You knit the border first, which is a 4 row pattern repeat of 7 stitches basically. I enjoyed this little pattern repeat, it involved increasing stitches (with Yarn overs) and binding off to reduce back to 7 stitch. After the 20th repeat, it’s like muscle memory … :D

I am currently working on the lace motif edging, its definitely keeping my attention. It’s easy enough for you to recognize the stitch repeats, and if you look at projects on ravelry, will notice you only need to work though the motif ONCE! Woohoo!

I’m using my own hand dyed yarn for this it’s a merino, silk, nylon and sterling silver blend, in a deep olivey brown colour (looks more browny in the pic) … this will be contrasted with some Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 4ply in Colourway: Ghost.

My next post on this will hopefully be to report it’s completion! ;)

Mizutama Shawl by Olga Buraya-Kefelian: For the record this was love at first sight! I stalked this pattern and snapped it up when it was released. This pattern can be knit top down or bottom up.

I’ve never knit a shawl from the bottom up, so I’m working it that way … and I’m half way through. I’m pretty much got the pattern memorized, and this knitting travels with me daily on the train. I’m really enjoying this alot, and am knitting it out of the Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 4ply, Colourway: Ghost. I am already planning to knit this in a cotton, linen or silk blend yarn. Totally psyched to see the end result after blocking!

My Ravelry Library/Queued
Daybreak by Stephen West

Lacy Baktus by Terhi Montonen

Juneberry Triangle by Jared Flood

Whippoorwill by Carina Spencer

Hibernating

Mara Shawl by Madelinetosh: This is a lovely shawl, Garter stitch makes a lovely warm fabric, I have knit this out of Worsted Merino yarn, and it is lush and squishy and hand dyed by me in  a colourway I call Ribenna. Here’s mine.

It’s hibernating at the moment because I made a booboo on the ribbing, I didnt increase at the beginning and ending of each right side round, and at the minute it’s approx 800 sts per row and I cant seem to bring myself to rip back and contemplating how to get around it if I can. I might have to come to the realization that frogging is my only choice here ;(.

I’ll update my shawl WIP in the next post :)

Until then … Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On a Shawl Kick … at .

meta

