Koigu Inspired Sockyarn :: Take 1

June 19, 2011 § 1 Comment

For the last 2 years I have been rather taken with Koigu yarn, whilst I’m inlove with this yarn, I’m also mindful of the cost!! Yikes! But I feel that at some stage I’m gonna have to splurge and get me some, so I can experience the joy of knitting with it … have I mentioned I’m a weak for colour :) … I’m particularly drawn to the yarn that has sprinkles of colour.

Just the other week I was perusing the WIKSTENmade blog, and came across a post on Hand Knit Socks and instantly fell inlove with the socks handknit with Koigu yarn. Personally I wouldnt knit my socks out of koigu, especially if it was 100% Merino, the sock would not go the distance … and I prefer my handknits to last alittle while ;). I would prefer nylon blend sockyarn; Merino 80%/Nylon 20% or Merino 75%/ Nylon 25% … cushy but is hardwearing.

Enter my only solution: Experimental Hand dyeing!!

The base colour is a semi solid mauve, with sprinkles of hot pink, turquoise blue & yellow … I’m curious to see how my sock knits up … I’m knitting a plan vanilla sock … I’m abit excited I had to post this :) …

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Koigu Inspired Sockyarn :: Take 1

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Koigu Inspired Sockyarn :: Take 1 at .

meta